View Full Version : I need some information about Poetry.com
Grendal
04-17-2001, 08:18 PM
I've read in a couple posts hear that poetry.com is a scam/farse/fraud.
Well it seems this "company" has accuired one of my poems; HOW, I don't know.
I'm also scared because they Sent me something to my HOME address, knowing my FULL name! I've never posted there. I've posted only here and one more site....but I've never posted my real name on any of them.
Anyway--
What makes them a scam? I mean I can see the scam sorta--"pay us and we'll put your poem in a book and we'll send you a copy". But isn't that how "Who's Who" works? You send them money and they put your name in their book and they send you a copy. Or is "Who's Who" a scam too?
Some one fill me in please!! Because I'm freaking out about how they got my address and all that!
Howard Miller
04-17-2001, 08:44 PM
Is it possible someone submitted your work in your name without your knowledge? It's happened before; well-meaning friends/relatives trying to do you a favor.
I've never heard of poetry.com hijacking poems off the internet; interesting marketing technique if that's what's happened. And, I suspect, legal, since you've posted it publically.
Howard
Grendal
04-17-2001, 09:17 PM
Thank you Howard,
Any relation to the clock company?
(I'm sure you've heard that a million times, but just HAD to ask.)
As for someone submitting it "for" me, immpossible...no one knows I write poetry (if that's what, what I write would be called lol).
But you could be right about the other, but how did they get my name and address....see my dilema?
I appreciate you taking the time to respond though.
Thanks
Erika S
04-17-2001, 10:23 PM
Poetry.com is operated by the International Library of Poetry (which has many other names, such as:
--National Library of Poetry
--Poetry.com
--International Society of Poets
--International Poetry Hall of Fame
--Watermark Press
--Poets.com)
Apparently, they have spread their scam to photography as well, founding the International Library of Photography.
Wind Magazine has placed on their a website a section about poetry scams that can be found at: http://wind.wind.org/literary.scams.htm
Linked from their page on the ILP/Poetry.com are the following, which you will enlightening as to the extent of this scam:
http://wind.wind.org/bigmoney.htm
http://wind.wind.org/counting.htm
http://wind.wind.org/take.htm
http://wind.wind.org/abc-nlp.htm
http://wockyjivvy.com/poetry/shame/index.html
http://wind.wind.org/D-Barry.htm
http://www.geocities.com/Paris/Metro/8543/Statement.html
-Erika
[This message has been edited by ericaeatscrayons (edited 04-17-2001).]
Grendal
04-17-2001, 10:39 PM
THANK YOU ERICA!!!
Loving the name by the way
That's JUST what I was wanting to hear/see! It didn't sound right when I got it, but I needed some proof! I also found it funny that you can't reach them my email...there website has no address for questions, you either have to call them, or send snail mail with any questions.
Again, thank you!!!
nyeldell
04-18-2001, 09:23 AM
Grendal-
I had a similar situation. They do have an email address, although it was very difficult to locate. Email customer_service@poetry.com and ask them to remove your poem. Include your full name and ZIP code, at the least. To make it hassle-free, get the VIP number and Book number for your poem and include them. (You can find these numbers by viewing your poem and then using the Edit button at the bottom of the page.) Good luck!
Nathan :-)
Sarah Kath
04-18-2001, 11:04 AM
Ah, I visited that site. I hope it doesn't violate the Great Guidelines of Posting, but that's not my business and I won't go sticking my nose into it. After reading some of the articles, I now believe that yes, Poetry.com is a scam. After all, read the example poem! Good goodness!
My cat is chewing on her butt;
It makes me think she is a nut.
I try to drown the fleas in spray;
They jump and shout and just yell "Hey!"
I try to drown the fleas in powder;
they eat it like it's fine clam chowder.
I try to drown the fleas in gas;
that really burned my kitty's ass.
Rachel Lindley
04-18-2001, 11:09 AM
Grendal, another possibility is that whatever other site you submitted to may have been powered by Poetry.com. I've noticed lately that they're starting to do that because word has spread that they're a scam. For example, a site I occasionally enjoy visiting, TheSpark.com, had a very funny poetry contest going on at one time. However, guess what? It was powered by Poetry.com, so everything that was submitted to TheSpark.com was also submitted to Poetry.com. If a site has an online submit form, look at the bottom of the screen to see if you can find any small print saying "powered by Poetry.com".
Rachel
Erika S
04-18-2001, 12:49 PM
I have just lost so much love TheSpark.com
I think I'll write a poem about it post it around the internet now.
-Erika
69% pure
Go, innocent, wealthy suburbanites!
Grendal
04-18-2001, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by nyeldell:
Grendal-
I had a similar situation. They do have an email address, although it was very difficult to locate. Email customer_service@poetry.com and ask them to remove your poem. Include your full name and ZIP code, at the least. To make it hassle-free, get the VIP number and Book number for your poem and include them. (You can find these numbers by viewing your poem and then using the Edit button at the bottom of the page.) Good luck!
Nathan :-)
Thank You Nathan, I will deffinately do that and will save myself the long distance charges to boot!
Grendal
04-18-2001, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by TheBroad:
Grendal, another possibility is that whatever other site you submitted to may have been powered by Poetry.com. I've noticed lately that they're starting to do that because word has spread that they're a scam. For example, a site I occasionally enjoy visiting, TheSpark.com, had a very funny poetry contest going on at one time. However, guess what? It was powered by Poetry.com, so everything that was submitted to TheSpark.com was also submitted to Poetry.com. If a site has an online submit form, look at the bottom of the screen to see if you can find any small print saying "powered by Poetry.com".
Rachel
Thank you Rachel, I checked and it isn't, but who knows, they might be incognito now...lol
Thank you to everyone who has helped me out with this. I am so appreciative!!
vBulletin v3.0.6, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.